The Adventure Continues

You all knew the time would come that I would be moving on from my post at EMC Corporation. I certainly enjoyed working with everyone at EMC and Microsoft over the years. It was great having an impact on EMC’s work with Microsoft on all things Exchange…. The opportunity to become an author for EMC’s Tech Books (look for the Exchange versions coming soon), co-author a MSPress book, speak at numerous events, develop & deliver Microsoft Certified Architect “Exchange Ranger” training, and generally influence how all of EMCs customers use the symmetrix in their implementations……not to mention being the first blogger at EMC – nice to see that they finally caught on!! I sure hope Chuck, Len, & ‘Zilla can lead them out to where they need to be in the blogosphere!! Of course I’ll be watching :)

Where am I off to, competitor? Microsoft? Well, there are lots of other things I want to accomplish in my lifetime, so now that I’ve been at EMC, played with storage and messaging – learned A LOT – it’s time to move on to some of the other things I want to experience!!

Life is short – Unless an experience is something to cherish forever – Use a double-declining depreciation method to value them…. that way you’ll have more leverage to enjoy and learn from the experiences to come…

Of course to be passionate about what your doing you have to find what your doing remotely interesting. I’m sure you’ve all picked up on the fact that Storage and Messaging are not my only interests… and there are a lot of things in the other interests category, but I’m not ready to make all my money in them… so web technologies it is then. This time I’ll have a go with another fascinating concept – Money. Always an interesting thing to work with, for, and in spite of :)

Btw, the blog won’t be removed, the content will change a little (naturally)…. but I’m still looking for free lunches, interesting technologies, and messaging/collaboration will always be a passion of mine.

13 Responses to “The Adventure Continues”

  1. Alex Says:

    Josh, You’re the best! Good luck to you! Alex

  2. joshmaher Says:

    Thanks Alex!! I’m glad I got to work with you

  3. Max Ciccotosto Says:

    The exchange community will miss you! Good thing it seems you’ll be sticking around in the startup one!

    Best of luck!

  4. Hans Says:

    Congratulations! Looking forward to hearing more about what you’ll be doing in the web technologies space.

  5. Storagezilla Says:

    Sorry to read that you’re leaving Josh but remember. We’ll sue the ass off you if you break any NDAs. ;-p

    But seriously, best if luck dude.

  6. Len D Says:

    Was it something I said?

    Devastating news for us – no doubt. I wish you the best!

    Len

  7. the storage anarchist Says:

    You’ll be missed – and thanks for all the advice!

  8. Todd Foley Says:

    Josh-
    We will definitely miss you – please don’t let whatever Len did chase you away!
    :-)

  9. gina Says:

    wow I didn’t even get to know you at all – bummer. Good luck with wherever you go!

  10. Anil Gupta Says:

    Josh,

    Hopefully, you will stick around in storage. Good luck with your new gig. Looking forward to hearing/reading more about it. BTW, as now you have more time on your hand, may be we can finally quit deferring our get together. ;-)

    Anil

  11. Nathan Kaiser Says:

    Congrats. I am sure you will find something, if not start your own thing. As you know, it is certainly in vogue!

  12. What will he do next? « nPost Startup Blog Says:

    […] will he do next? Josh Maher, prolific and well liked Seattle blogger who runs the Seattle Lunch 2.0 events is now “with out a job.” Our hope is that he jump fully into a startup! He worked at […]

  13. John Says:

    Good luck, Josh! You ROCK!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

