EMC is officially blogging

Jeremiah Owyang pointed out the fact that EMC is officially blogging…I am pretty excited to see what comes of this and how the EMC culture handles blogging. As Mark mentions in his first post, EMC legal are a hard group to get anything past. Which is maybe why I’m more reserved about EMC stuff, hopefully Mark will be able to provide insights into the company that have the approval of our corporate groups but are still valuable to everyone else.

David Berlind pointed out an interesting missing item in Mark Lewis’s first two entries… nothing about RSA or Network Inteligence, luckily Episode 3 was slightly related to RSA, but not too heavy on any details. David also points out Diane Greene‘s blog stopped receiving posts…This was something I thought was a shame as well and hope the corporate had nothing to do with it.

Anil Gupta pointed out that comments are disabled on Mark’s blog (I agree with both)….Mark didn’t ask me first if comments should be turned off…the answer is always no…. The one thing I do have to point out is that I have never seen HDS answer a comment…so yeah, you should have them on, but you should also be listening and conversing, otherwise leave it off and don’t claim to be part of the community. I have emailed the contact address on Dave’s blog (at least there is some way to give feedback) but did not receive any emails back (and no, my comments weren’t inappropriate).
I really hope that EMC’s newfound love for blogs lasts and keeps both RSA’s blog & podcast alive as well as my own :)

3 Responses to “EMC is officially blogging”

  1. Jeremiah Owyang Says:

    Many of the above observations are correct, two-way conversation in our marketplace has been a bit wanting.

    I’m looking forward to seeing more dialogue from the data storage blogosphere as a whole. Have you seen this list of Data Storage bloggers? This is a great way to find a cross linking of folks in our community.

    http://storagebloggers.pbwiki.com/Data%20Storage%20Bloggers

  2. Anil Gupta Says:

    Josh, I wonder if Mark will be able to maintain the frequency of posting, he is showing at the starting gate. Anil

  3. joshmaher Says:

    Thanks for the link Jeremiah, I hope EMC adds value to what you have been working on for so long.

    Anil, these are a lot of posts pretty quick, I am pretty excited at the prospect of Mark’s insights into EMC this frequently. I know I’ll be watching pretty closely.

Leave a Reply

