Life: Elementary Stock Market Games!!!

I recently decided it was time to start teaching the kids about the stock market. Gabriel, 6 & Quentin, 9 are getting basic arithmetic, spelling, and science training in public school and will do well when they are older. The only problem is that I want to make sure they know what to do with their millions or hundreds when they start to make it….

So I Quentin, Gabriel, and I embarked on a four week adventure :)

  • $10,000.00
  • 3-5 stocks each
  • 4 weeks
  • Two trades allowed at the halfway point

The money would be split evenly amongst all the stocks chosen (so picking google would skew the number of shares for all of the companies in the portfolio). Of course the kids were all over it and had a blast trying to figure out what stocks to buy. “Hey Dad, how about Honey Bucket?”…. Yes I’m sure they were thinking it was hilarious to buy stock in human waste with the word format P**P….

So Quentin, being 9, went first with some authority….

  • Washington Mutual Bank – 12 (both Robin and myself have worked here)
  • Google – 12 (this is where the school teachers tell the kids to start on the Internet)
  • General Motors – 12 (he liked Chevy for some reason)
  • Honda Motor Company – 12 (our family cars are a Honda & an Acura)
  • Yum Brands – 12 (Pizza Hut carries some weight I guess)

Gabriel went for it too with some interesting picks…

  • Washington Mutual Bank – 53
  • Nike – 53 (he wanted both Nike & Hurley… but Nike owns Hurley)
  • Safeway – 53 (we shop here a lot)
  • Costco – 53 (and spend a lot of money here)

and… myself – I don’t personally own any of these so thought it would be fun to pick them :)

  • RIM  – 10 (almost bought at 35 and now really sore that I missed the jump to over $100)
  • Yahoo  – 10 (thinking of adding to my own portfolio)
  • Cisco  – 10 (thinking of adding to my own portfolio)
  • Google  – 10 (I can’t afford the shares so why not play with them)
  • Garmin  – 10  (everyone wants a Nav this Christmas)

Well day 1 was interesting….

Gabriel (6 years old) is in the lead with $10,199.28

I’m in a healthy second with $10,197.70

and Quentin is not far behind with $10,165.24

maher_stock_1.jpg

7 Responses to “Life: Elementary Stock Market Games!!!”

  1. Life: Unemployment - Day 1 « Messaging….. Technology…… Life….. Says:

    […] personal portfolio is up…. and in the Stock Market Games – I am royally kicking my kids’ […]

  2. Anna Coulling Says:

    Delighted to see that you are teaching your children how to trade the stock markets. Do visit my site for free information on how the markets work. There is also a free stock market game which you might find useful to show your children how trades are opened and closed. You can also win prizes and its all free to join.

  3. Jamoon33 Says:

    Of all the stock market games I have tried, Forevex is the best. I’m playing at forevex, because I have options to win real money or prizes for free, and I can invest without any risk, totally free.

    Forevex is a stock exchange game where everything is ruled by the fame of the stocks. At forevex quotes athletes, politicians, actors, musicians, brands, etc… And the benefits can be changed for real money and/or prizes as you like.

    Check the game: http://www.forevex.com/en/

  4. gail Says:

    It might sound weird but the browser I have just can’t show your article rightly… Can you confirm that this article has been set up for Opera? Would be awesome if you could check it out, even though it might come from a bug on my side

  5. stocks Says:

    With the original, humorous and even?Groups meet regularly, offers or well.When hiring, software The marvel.De calle Pikk stocks, would naturally overflow like they used.Condition and goals, home building projects.,

  6. Patrick Woods Says:

    I find most of the online stuff that passes for a game is a come-on by the financial industry to get you used to filling out your orders online so they can relieve you of your money. Any fool can place an order. The market is not a game, it is very serious stuff. The financial industry plants the notion that you place your order and ba-bing-ba-boom you win. The reality is far from that. It is not a game. It takes a long time to save a few thousand dollars and the banksters it takes them the-scam-of-the-month to take it.
    http://www.bigboardraiders.com, this is my review site of my market game, Big Board Raiders. It is about what happens when there are bad economies, the big fish eat the little fish and you or your group could be the big fish, not on Wall street, but in your neck of the woods, not all corporations trade in New York. There are more on Main street than on Wall street.
    I blog about learning technical analysis at an early age, but playing my game at 12 years old lays the ground work for understanding money, the forms of money and what capital is and who owns the capital and how you can get some and what kind of paper corporations trade with you for your cash.
    I blog about the gold bug index and use TA to show how it works to get peoples interest at http://www.stocktradinggame.me and not so much at http://www.elementarymathgames.info, but I’m still building infrastructure.
    I would be happy to send you a copy of my game if you would review it on your blog and maybe at my review site, (if its favorable, just kidding) I can take the consequences of your critical look.
    As well, if you want to learn about the market, then forget all the financial crap they teach you in business schools, I know I did it, I am a bean counter and I’m telling you learn Technical Analysis. The market is simple, it swings like a pendulum from overbought to oversold, like an oscillator. TA uses mathematical oscillators that follow the swings, and these are the programs that make the proprietary software programs of hedge funds and money institutions enter and exit positions. So when you are on-board so to speak, because you see the same signals as they do, you ride the wave of money flow in the right direction. It becomes what’s happening because hundreds of thousands of people around the world do it, and the more that do the more it works. The democracy of money. Anyway, I would like you to check it out. Thanks, teaching the kids is the right thing but you also have to teach them the right things.

  7. global capital management limited kuwait Says:

    I’ll immediately take hold of your rss feed as I can not find your e-mail subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Kindly permit me recognize so that I could subscribe. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

